Mayor and Council

The city is governed by a Mayor and six (6) Council Members, each is elected to a four year term. Council Members run for one (1) of six (6 ) positions. The positions are not tied to precincts or certain areas of the city but when running for office the candidates must declare which seat they intend to fill. This type of election means that the candidates are actually running against one another for a particular seat on the council, rather than candidates with the most votes automatically winning a seat as is done in most cities throughout Idaho. In order to maintain a certain amount of continuity on the council, the terms of each position are staggered so that no more than 4 council seats and the Mayor’s seat are contested in the same election year. 

Mayor Mac Pooler
Mayor Mac Pooler was elected to a four-year term in 2001. He was re-elected in 2005, 2009, 2013, 2017, and 2021. He has previously served on the City Council and was Mayor from 1995 through 1998. In June of 2005, he was elected to the Association of Idaho Cities Board of Directors serving as Third Vice President and becoming President in 2008. He is retired from the Central Shoshone County Water District where he served as the district manager.
Council President Terry Douglas
Terry Douglas was elected to Position # 5 in 1999. He has been re-elected to this position in each election since 2003. He previously served on the City Council during the planning and construction of the Silver Mountain Gondola. He is currently the Chairman of the Administration & Finance Committee, the Depot Building, the Personnel Committee, and the McKinley Avenue/Eagle Crest Committee. He is the Council Representative of the Traffic, Safety Commission. He is the owner of Kellogg Moving & Storage in Kellogg.
Council Member Dennis Norris
Dennis Norris is served in # 4 since 1998 and was re-elected in 2021. He serves on the Building/Planning & Zoning Committee and serves on the Administrative Committee, the Personnel Committee, and the Public Works Committee. He was the Manager of the Central Shoshone County Water District until his retirement in 2018.
Council Member Ron Mercado
Ron Mercado was appointed to Position # 1 in June of 2008 and re-elected in 2021. Ron was previously self-employed in the logging business and is currently employed with McGillivray Environmental of Osburn. He is serving on the Administrative, Police, and Public Works Committees.  
Council Member Sid Armstrong 
Sid Armstrong was appointed to Position # 6 in February of 2017 and elected to a 2-year term in 2017 and a 4-year term in 2019. He was previously employed with Post Falls School District for 25 years and served as their Director of Business Services until his recent retirement. Sid serves on the Administrative Committee and the Personnel Committee. 
Council Member Anna Moody
Anna Moody was appointed to fulfill the remaining term of Joan Head in Position #3 upon Joan’s retirement in April 2019. Anna was elected to serve in that position in 2019. Anna is the Coeur d’Alene Region Drinking Water Compliance Supervisor for the Idaho Department of Environmental Quality. She serves as the City Representative on the Library Board and is a member of the Police Committee, the Depot Committee, and the Personnel Committee.